store | blogs | forums | twitter | facebook | wiki | downloads | support portal
Atomic Secure Linux
It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:19 am

» Feed - Atomicorp

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 4:22 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7902
Location: earth
Yeah give it a shot, I assumed you had already tried that :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:26 am 
Offline
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Posts: 2812
Location: The Netherlands
I tried AOOI, but it failed, presumably because the box has a Realtek RTL8110SC gigabit NIC that is supported since CentOS 5.2:

Quote:
0b:04.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8110SC/8169SC Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)


It looks like AOOI tries to install CentOS 5.0 though:

Quote:
DISTVERSION=5.0 # CentOS version


Can this be changed to 5.2 easily?

There is also the dkms-r1000 package from RPMforge that adds support for this NIC, but I guess integrating that with AOOI isn't any easier?

_________________
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7902
Location: earth
Yeah kinda, I used different versions because of the images required. I think local installs on C5.1 and above required 3 ISO's, vs 5.0 that only needed 2. Sometimes there isn't enough space for it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:15 pm 
Offline
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Posts: 2812
Location: The Netherlands
What about the 8 MB -netinstall image? Could that be used somehow? I understand that all packages still need to be downloaded and stored before they can be installed.

_________________
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:31 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7902
Location: earth
That would work for network installs only, it doesn't drop the 3 ISO requirement of 5.1 or 5.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:16 am 
Offline
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Right Behind You!
I just picked up a 1and1 server as I'm getting a kernel panic and a hang when it tries to boot after running AOOI. Below is all the output from the serial console before it hangs. Any thoughts?

Linux version 2.6.18-8.el5 (mockbuild@builder6.centos.org) (gcc version 4.1.1 20070105 (Red Hat 4.1.1-52)) #1 SMP Thu Mar 15 19:46:53 EDT 2007
Command line: ro root=/dev/md1 console=tty0 console=ttyS0,57600 ks=hd:sda2:ks-1and1-x86_64.cfg ip=74.208.12.38 netmask=255.255.255.255 gateway=10.255.255.1 dns=74.208.12.251
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009e000 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 000000000009e000 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000000d0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 000000007ef10000 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 000000007ef10000 - 000000007ef16000 (ACPI data)
BIOS-e820: 000000007ef16000 - 000000007ef80000 (ACPI NVS)
BIOS-e820: 000000007ef80000 - 0000000080000000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000fc000000 - 00000000fe000000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000fec00000 - 00000000fec10000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000fee00000 - 00000000fee01000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000fff80000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
DMI present.
Scanning NUMA topology in Northbridge 24
Number of nodes 1
Node 0 MemBase 0000000000000000 Limit 000000007ef10000
Using node hash shift of 63
Bootmem setup node 0 0000000000000000-000000007ef10000
Nvidia board detected. Ignoring ACPI timer override.
ACPI: PM-Timer IO Port: 0x1008
ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x00] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
Processor #0 15:11 APIC version 16
ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x01] lapic_id[0x01] enabled)
Processor #1 15:11 APIC version 16
ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x00] high edge lint[0x1])
ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x01] high edge lint[0x1])
ACPI: IOAPIC (id[0x02] address[0xfec00000] gsi_base[0])
IOAPIC[0]: apic_id 2, version 17, address 0xfec00000, GSI 0-23
Setting APIC routing to physical flat
Using ACPI (MADT) for SMP configuration information
Nosave address range: 000000000009e000 - 00000000000a0000
Nosave address range: 00000000000a0000 - 00000000000d0000
Nosave address range: 00000000000d0000 - 0000000000100000
Allocating PCI resources starting at 88000000 (gap: 80000000:7c000000)
SMP: Allowing 2 CPUs, 0 hotplug CPUs
Built 1 zonelists. Total pages: 511537
Kernel command line: ro root=/dev/md1 console=tty0 console=ttyS0,57600 ks=hd:sda2:ks-1and1-x86_64.cfg ip=74.208.12.38 netmask=255.255.255.255 gateway=10.255.255.1 dns=74.208.12.251
Initializing CPU#0
PID hash table entries: 4096 (order: 12, 32768 bytes)
Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
Dentry cache hash table entries: 262144 (order: 9, 2097152 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 131072 (order: 8, 1048576 bytes)
Checking aperture...
CPU 0: aperture @ c9bc000000 size 32 MB
Aperture too small (32 MB)
No AGP bridge found
Memory: 2037416k/2079808k available (2397k kernel code, 42000k reserved, 1222k data, 196k init)
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 4422.39 BogoMIPS (lpj=2211199)
Security Framework v1.0.0 initialized
SELinux: Initializing.
SELinux: Starting in permissive mode
selinux_register_security: Registering secondary module capability
Capability LSM initialized as secondary
Mount-cache hash table entries: 256
CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: L2 Cache: 512K (64 bytes/line)
CPU 0/0 -> Node 0
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 0
SMP alternatives: switching to UP code
ACPI: Core revision 20060707
..MP-BIOS bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC
Using local APIC timer interrupts.
result 12557286
Detected 12.557 MHz APIC timer.
SMP alternatives: switching to SMP code
Booting processor 1/2 APIC 0x1
Initializing CPU#1
NMI Watchdog detected LOCKUP on CPU 1
CPU 1
Modules linked in:
Pid: 0, comm: swapper Not tainted 2.6.18-8.el5 #1
RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff80016ada>] [<ffffffff80016ada>] read_current_timer+0x2/0x11
RSP: 0018:ffff81007ee17e60 EFLAGS: 00000297
RAX: 0000000011195898 RBX: 00000000000008d1 RCX: 0000000000000000
RDX: 000000000000000c RSI: 00000000c0010004 RDI: ffff81007ee17ea8
RBP: 00000000fffb6efb R08: 0000000000000000 R09: 00000000ffffffff
R10: 00000000ffde46de R11: 0000000000000001 R12: 0000000000000000
R13: 0000000000000000 R14: 0000000000000000 R15: 0000000000000000
FS: 0000000000000000(0000) GS:ffff810002ff97c0(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000
CS: 0010 DS: 0018 ES: 0018 CR0: 000000008005003b
CR2: 0000000000000000 CR3: 0000000000201000 CR4: 00000000000006a0
Process swapper (pid: 0, threadinfo ffff81007ee16000, task ffff810002ffe100)
Stack: ffffffff80068679 ffff810002c3b000 0000000000000002 ffff810002bc2738
ffffffff800230b0 0000000000000004 ffffffff8006d729 ffffffff8013cd23
00000000000008d1 0000000c1119588c 0000000c1119588c 00000000000008d1
Call Trace:
[<ffffffff80068679>] calibrate_delay+0xb1/0x2d4
[<ffffffff800230b0>] alloc_page_interleave+0x6c/0x74
[<ffffffff8006d729>] mxcsr_feature_mask_init+0x22/0x5d
[<ffffffff8013cd23>] strstr+0x4f/0x69
[<ffffffff80072f9b>] smp_callin+0x95/0xd9
[<ffffffff80073773>] start_secondary+0x18/0x469


Code: 48 c1 e2 20 89 c0 48 09 c2 31 c0 48 89 17 c3 41 56 41 89 f6
Kernel panic - not syncing: nmi watchdog
BUG: warning at kernel/panic.c:137/panic() (Not tainted)

Call Trace:
<NMI> [<ffffffff8008b476>] panic+0x1e3/0x1f4
[<ffffffff80069261>] _show_stack+0xdb/0xea
[<ffffffff80069354>] show_registers+0xe4/0x100
[<ffffffff8006300b>] die_nmi+0x66/0xa3
[<ffffffff8006368d>] nmi_watchdog_tick+0x105/0x1a6
[<ffffffff80063374>] default_do_nmi+0x86/0x214
[<ffffffff80063771>] do_nmi+0x43/0x61
[<ffffffff80062c2f>] nmi+0x7f/0x88
[<ffffffff80016ada>] read_current_timer+0x2/0x11
<<EOE>> [<ffffffff80068679>] calibrate_delay+0xb1/0x2d4
[<ffffffff800230b0>] alloc_page_interleave+0x6c/0x74
[<ffffffff8006d729>] mxcsr_feature_mask_init+0x22/0x5d
[<ffffffff8013cd23>] strstr+0x4f/0x69
[<ffffffff80072f9b>] smp_callin+0x95/0xd9
[<ffffffff80073773>] start_secondary+0x18/0x469

Stuck ??
Inquiring remote APIC #1...
... APIC #1 ID: 01000000
... APIC #1 VERSION: 80050010
... APIC #1 SPIV: 000000ff
Brought up 1 CPUs
testing NMI watchdog ... OK.
time.c: Using 3.579545 MHz WALL PM GTOD PIT/TSC timer.
time.c: Detected 2210.082 MHz processor.
sizeof(vma)=176 bytes
sizeof(page)=56 bytes
sizeof(inode)=560 bytes
sizeof(dentry)=216 bytes
sizeof(ext3inode)=760 bytes
sizeof(buffer_head)=96 bytes
sizeof(skbuff)=240 bytes
checking if image is initramfs... it is
Freeing initrd memory: 5019k freed
NET: Registered protocol family 16
ACPI: bus type pci registered
PCI: Using MMCONFIG at fc000000
PCI: No mmconfig possible on device 0:18
ACPI: Interpreter enabled
ACPI: Using IOAPIC for interrupt routing
ACPI: PCI Root Bridge [PCI0] (0000:00)
PCI: Probing PCI hardware (bus 00)
Boot video device is 0000:00:05.0
PCI: Transparent bridge - 0000:00:10.0
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0.PEXA._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0.PEXB._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0.P2P_._PRT]
ACPI: Device [TPM] status [00000008]: functional but not present; setting present
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKA] (IRQs 5 7 10 11 14 15) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKB] (IRQs 5 7 10 11 14 15) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKC] (IRQs 5 7 10 11 14 15) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKD] (IRQs 5 7 10 11 14 15) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKE] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKF] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKG] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *11
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKH] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *0, disabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKI] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *7
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKJ] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *11
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKK] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *10
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKL] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *11
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKM] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *10
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKN] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *5
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKO] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *10
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKP] (IRQs 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23) *0, disabled.
ACPI: Device [LPT] status [00000008]: functional but not present; setting present
ACPI: Device [ECP] status [00000008]: functional but not present; setting present
ACPI: Device [COM2] status [00000008]: functional but not present; setting present
Linux Plug and Play Support v0.97 (c) Adam Belay
pnp: PnP ACPI init
pnp: PnP ACPI: found 11 devices
usbcore: registered new driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new driver hub
PCI: Using ACPI for IRQ routing
PCI: If a device doesn't work, try "pci=routeirq". If it helps, post a report
NetLabel: Initializing
NetLabel: domain hash size = 128
NetLabel: protocols = UNLABELED CIPSOv4
NetLabel: unlabeled traffic allowed by default
PCI-DMA: Disabling IOMMU.
PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:02.0
IO window: disabled.
MEM window: disabled.
PREFETCH window: disabled.
PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:03.0
IO window: disabled.
MEM window: disabled.
PREFETCH window: disabled.
PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:10.0
IO window: disabled.
MEM window: disabled.
PREFETCH window: disabled.
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:02.0 to 64
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:03.0 to 64
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:10.0 to 64
NET: Registered protocol family 2
IP route cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
TCP established hash table entries: 262144 (order: 10, 4194304 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 65536 (order: 8, 1048576 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 262144 bind 65536)
TCP reno registered
Simple Boot Flag at 0x36 set to 0x80
audit: initializing netlink socket (disabled)
audit(1230734784.131:1): initialized
Total HugeTLB memory allocated, 0
VFS: Disk quotas dquot_6.5.1
Dquot-cache hash table entries: 512 (order 0, 4096 bytes)
SELinux: Registering netfilter hooks
Initializing Cryptographic API
ksign: Installing public key data
Loading keyring
- Added public key 991108A46E99ED4B
- User ID: CentOS (Kernel Module GPG key)
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler anticipatory registered
io scheduler deadline registered
io scheduler cfq registered (default)

_________________
-Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:16 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7902
Location: earth
nice, not really anything I can do about that unfortunately. Give the network install a shot maybe?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 4:01 pm 
Offline
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Right Behind You!
Network install and the vmlinux image off of the 5.2 net install CD hung at the same place, although the 5.2 image didn't have a panic. I'm working with 1and1 now to return the "value" server and go with a "business" server. That's what I get for cheaping out! :)

_________________
-Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:22 pm 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 17
I am trying to use aooi.sh or aooi2 with a brand new 1&1 Enterprise II server (4 core, 8gb, SCSI RAID). I am unable to get the server to do network install (it says it can't retrieve the ks file. (Unable to download the kickstart file.) My presumption is that it can't get networking up, as you mention was a possibility sometimes.

I tried to do local install, but that seems to fail as well.

Any suggestions?

-Kevin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:43 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7902
Location: earth
Yeah and the 1and1 AOOI mirror server is down at the moment too, which isnt helping! Apparently someone re-imaged Damiens server with opensuse... he was rather not amused :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:45 pm 
Offline
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:38 pm
Posts: 770
Location: Sweden
I used the AOOI just a few days ago. The mirror of course didn't work, but if I just inserted another path during the installation it worked great!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:21 pm 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 17
So any ideas what I should do Scott? Does these quad core servers not have a working network with AOOI? Local install fails since the ISOs are not found on any of the mirrors. Besides, I want 5.2.

Thanks,
-Kevin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 4:38 am 
Offline
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:38 pm
Posts: 770
Location: Sweden
Couldn't you use another mirror for the ISOs?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:19 am 
Offline
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Posts: 2812
Location: The Netherlands
Zanoryt wrote:
Besides, I want 5.2.


Just run yum update after the install and you'll be on 5.2.

_________________
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AOOI dev tree
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7902
Location: earth
No its not the hardware in this case, its something about the 1and1 network. Its not provisioning an IP like I would expect it to normally, and while I had gotten it to work in the past, I couldn't get a consistent result. Hence the "offline" in AOOI, thats what you'd use "local" mode for. And on that subject, the local mode grabs the ISO's it needs to image the system using 5.0 because you only need 2 ISO's to do it. 5.1+ required 3, and there wasnt enough space for it in swap.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

» Feed - Atomicorp

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group